Château de Cougoussac


Cougoussac Castle is a castle on the French town of Gabrias in Lozere. The domain is registered Cougoussac Historic Monument since 1986. In the fourteenth century manse of Cougoussac is converted into a castle by the lords of Gabrias. This manor was part of the twelve manors of Gevaudan, which gave an annual admission to particular states of Gevaudan.

Then at the end of the sixteenth century, the castle became a property of the Calvet family, lords of Fontanilles (the Cevennes). This family, early converted to Protestantism, is suffering the horrors of religious wars, including the violent repression in the country. In 1587, the castle échoie to the family of Bressolles Retz.

Retz family, whose origins are Scottish, was greatly established in Gevaudan, and different branches have acquired several estates in the country. These are the Retz Bressolles who convert to the castle, giving the general appearance preserved until today.


Accommodation nearby

12 € From
aubrac-hotel aumont-aubrac

Aubrac Hôtel

  • Aumont-aubrac
  • 04 66 42 99 00

image reservation



Latest news onChâteau de Cougoussac

Château de Cougoussac


Le château de Cougoussac est un château situé sur la commune française de Gabrias, en Lozère. Le domaine de Cougoussac est inscrit Monument historique depuis 1986. Au XIVe siècle la manse de Cougoussac est aménagée en château par les seigneurs de Gabrias. Cette seigneurie faisait partie des douze seigneuries du Gévaudan, qui donnait chaque année un droit d'entrée aux États particuliers du Gévaudan.

Puis, à la fin du xvie siècle, le château devient une propriété de la famille Calvet, seigneurs de Fontanilles (dans les Cévennes). Cette famille, très tôt convertie au protestantisme, subit les affres des guerres de Religion, dont la répression est violente dans le pays. En 1587, le château échoie à la famille des Retz de Bressolles.

La famille de Retz, dont les origines seraient écossaises, s'est grandement implantée en Gévaudan, et les différentes branches ont acquis plusieurs seigneuries du pays. Ce sont les Retz de Bressolles qui aménagent le château, lui donnant l'aspect général conservé jusqu'à aujourd'hui.


Hébergements à proximité

12 € A partir de
aubrac-hotel aumont-aubrac

Aubrac Hôtel

  • Aumont-aubrac
  • 04 66 42 99 00

image reservation



Avis et commentaires sur Château de Cougoussac


* Ce numero de téléphone vous permettra d'être directement mis en contact avec l'établissement.
  Ce service de mise en relation vous sera facturé 1.34E+0.34E/Mn et n'est valable que depuis la France.