Château de Rochechouart


The castle's history began around the year 1000 by the fortification by the Viscounts of Limoges a rocky outcrop overlooking the seed. The castle, whose tower dates from the twelfth century, and the majority of the fifteenth century building is situated above the confluence of the Seed and Vayres in the town of Rochechouart. Until 1470, the lordship is the stronghold of a younger branch of the Viscounts of Limoges. Of the old fortress there remains only the gatehouse to the drawbridge that maintains one of the towers of the thirteenth century. During the Revolution, an attempt to demolish the castle.

The revolutionaries succeeded only demolished the top two towers that frame the front southeast. The castle was bought by the department in 1836, during the reign of Louis Philippe. He began his restoration to the same. Between 1858 and 1859, the early campaigns of restoration is being conducted by the department of historic monuments in the castle to install the sub-prefecture and town hall in the reign of Napoleon III. Today, it houses the sub-prefecture, and since 1985 the Museum of Contemporary Art where you can admire the bottom Raoul Hausmann, Dada artist, and works by international artists of the 60s to today, such as Giuseppe Penone, Arte Povera, Christian Boltanski and Tony Cragg.

We can also see collections of flint axes, cut and polished stones, bones of prehistoric times, reconstructions of hypocausts from Chassenon, pottery discovered in Auvergne and in the Charentes. Three exhibitions held there each year. You can also visit the room which houses hunts polychrome frescoes from the early sixteenth century, representing a deer, and the room of Hercules adorned with murals in grisaille of the mid-sixteenth century. In the courtyard you can admire the gallery supported by twisted columns.


Accommodation nearby

5.5 € From
camping-des-lacs pressignac

Camping des Lacs

  • Pressignac
  • 05 45 31 17 80
385 € From
hameau-de-la-maridele cussac

Hameau de la Maridele

  • Cussac
  • 05 55 70 29 25

image reservation



Latest news onChâteau de Rochechouart

Château de Rochechouart


L'histoire du château commence vers l'an 1000 par la fortification par les vicomtes de Limoges d'un éperon rocheux dominant la Graine. Le château, dont le donjon date du xiie siècle, et la majorité du bâtiment du xve siècle, est situé au-dessus du confluent de la Graine et de la Vayres dans la commune de Rochechouart. Jusqu'en 1470, la châtellenie est le fief d’une branche cadette des vicomtes de Limoges. De l'ancienne forteresse il ne subsiste plus que le châtelet d'entrée à pont-levis qui conserve une des tours du xiiie siècle. Pendant la Révolution, on essaie de démolir le château.

Les révolutionnaires ne réussirent qu'à démolir le sommet des deux tours qui encadrent la façade sud-est. Le château est acheté par le département en 1836, pendant le règne de Louis-Philippe. Il entreprend sa restauration à l'identique. Entre 1858 et 1859, le début des campagnes de restauration est mené par le service des Monuments historiques pour installer dans le château la sous-préfecture et la mairie, sous le règne de Napoléon III. De nos jours, il abrite la sous-préfecture, et depuis 1985 le musée d'art contemporain où l'on peut admirer le fond Raoul Hausmann, artiste dadaïste, et des œuvres d'artistes internationaux des années 60 à nos jours, tels que Giuseppe Penone, Arte Povera, Christian Boltanski ou Tony Cragg.

On peut aussi y voir des collections de silex, haches, pierres taillées et polies, ossements des époques préhistoriques, des reconstitutions d'hypocaustes provenant de Chassenon, des poteries découvertes en Auvergne et dans les Charentes. Trois expositions temporaires s'y déroulent chaque année. On peut y visiter aussi la salle des chasses qui abrite des fresques polychromes du début du xvie siècle, représentant une chasse au cerf, et la salle d'Hercule ornée de peintures murales en grisaille du milieu du xvie siècle. Dans la cour d'honneur, on peut admirer la galerie soutenue par des colonnes torses.


Hébergements à proximité

5.5 € A partir de
camping-des-lacs pressignac

Camping des Lacs

  • Pressignac
  • 05 45 31 17 80
385 € A partir de
hameau-de-la-maridele cussac

Hameau de la Maridele

  • Cussac
  • 05 55 70 29 25

image reservation



Avis et commentaires sur Château de Rochechouart


* Ce numero de téléphone vous permettra d'être directement mis en contact avec l'établissement.
  Ce service de mise en relation vous sera facturé 1.34E+0.34E/Mn et n'est valable que depuis la France.