Abbaye Notre-Dame de Sept-Fontaines


Abbey Notre-Dame de Sept Fontaines is an abbey of the order of Premontre to Fagnon.It was founded in 1129 by Helie, lord of Mezieres.

The sale of the property began April 4, 1791 by furnishings and household contents. The sale lasted 4 days. Then, on June 1, objects were sold to the church. We can find some of them in the surrounding churches: Gespunsart, St. Marcel, Fagnon, etc. ... It was in 1794 that Septfontaines experienced its first private owner Mr. Presolles. The latter immediately demolished the church. At this time many changes have occurred. Before 1810, disappearance of the cloister. Before 1842 disappearance of two wings and the construction of two three-story towers on either side of the building. A fire partially destroyed the castle in 1907 and the north tower was rebuilt in 1908.

The castle then became the property of the Vicomte de Remond, and later, his descendants. He passed, after Alfred Corneau, who transformed into a recreational property. On the death of Alfred Corneau, the castle remained undivided, was bought by the husband of one of his daughters, Mr. Forest and then the couple's daughter, Marguerite Forest, wife of Jacques Vendroux owner in Calais. The family came to spend the holiday with their four children: Jacques, Yvonne, John and Suzanne. Only after the 1914-1918 war, as Jacques Vendroux settled there and then bequeathed the castle to John Vendroux Vendroux brother Jacques and Yvonne de Gaulle.

During the 14-18 war, General Joffre set up his headquarters in Septfontaines but there are only a few days being forced to withdraw. In September 1914, Emperor William II moved to Charleville. Thus, the castle was transformed into a casino Septfontaines by William II during the First World War. His majesty went there every day for tea accompanied by senior officers of his suite (the Kromprinz, Admiral von Tirpitz, Graf von Moltke the marshal .....).

The castle is the subject of an entry in as historical monuments.


Accommodation nearby

189 € From
homair-vacances-lac-des-vieilles-forges les-mazures

Homair Vacances Lac des Vieilles Forges

  • Les mazures
  • 08 20 20 12 07
42 € From
auberge-des-chenets tournavaux

Auberge des Chenets

  • Tournavaux
  • 06 26 36 06 44

image reservation



Latest news onAbbaye Notre-Dame de Sept-Fontaines

Abbaye Notre-Dame de Sept-Fontaines


L'abbaye Notre-Dame de Sept-Fontaines est une abbaye de l'ordre de Prémontré, à Fagnon.Elle fut fondée en 1129 par Hélie, seigneur de Mézières.

La vente des biens commença le 4 Avril 1791 par le mobilier et le contenu de la maison. Cette vente dura 4 jours. Puis, le 1 Juin, furent vendus les objets de l'église. On peut retrouver certains d'entre eux dans les églises environnantes: Gespunsart, St. Marcel, Fagnon, etc... C'est en 1794 que Sept-Fontaines connut son premier propriétaire privé Monsieur Presolles. Ce dernier fit démolir immédiatement l'église abbatiale. C'est à cette époque que de nombreuses modifications sont intervenues. Avant 1810, disparition du cloître. Avant 1842 disparition des deux ailes et la construction de deux tours de trois étages de chaque coté du bâtiment. Un incendie détruisit partiellement le château en 1907 et la tourelle nord dût être reconstruite en 1908.

Le château devint ensuite la propriété du Vicomte de Rémond et, plus tard, de ses descendants. Il passa, après, à Alfred Corneau, qui le transforma en une propriété de plaisance. À la mort de Alfred Corneau, le château resté en indivision, fût acheté par l'époux d'une de ses filles, Monsieur Forest puis à la fille de ce couple, Marguerite Forest, épouse de Jacques Vendroux, armateur à Calais. La famille venait passer les vacances avec leurs quatre enfants: Jacques, Yvonne, Jean, et Suzanne. Ce n'est qu'après la guerre 1914-1918, que Jacques Vendroux s'y installa puis légua le château à Jean Vendroux, frère de Jacques Vendroux et de Yvonne de Gaulle.

Durant la guerre 14-18, Le Général Joffre installe son quartier général à Septfontaines mais il ne reste que quelque jours étant dans l'obligation de se replier. En Septembre 1914, l'Empereur Guillaume II s'installe à Charleville. C'est ainsi que le château de Sept-Fontaines fut transformé en casino par Guillaume II durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Sa majesté y venait tous les jours prendre le thé accompagné par les officiers supérieurs de sa suite (le Kromprinz, l'amiral Von Tirpitz, le feldmarschal Graf von Moltke.....).

Le château fait l'objet d'une inscription au titre des monuments historiques.


Hébergements à proximité

189 € A partir de
homair-vacances-lac-des-vieilles-forges les-mazures

Homair Vacances Lac des Vieilles Forges

  • Les mazures
  • 08 20 20 12 07
42 € A partir de
auberge-des-chenets tournavaux

Auberge des Chenets

  • Tournavaux
  • 06 26 36 06 44




Avis et commentaires sur Abbaye Notre-Dame de Sept-Fontaines


* Ce numero de téléphone vous permettra d'être directement mis en contact avec l'établissement.
  Ce service de mise en relation vous sera facturé 1.34E+0.34E/Mn et n'est valable que depuis la France.